BurdaStyle 8/2012 #121: Colour block dress

I have loved this dress ever since I saw it last year, but never really had the inspiration to make it for myself – until now. I thought the triangular side panels really called out for some colour blocking and so I offset the cream https://i1.wp.com/www.burdastyle.ru/gfx/00/01/7e/e0/technicalSketch-10qeduw_jpg/thumb_140x188_11.jpgbody of the dress with the black side panels, hoping for some optical illusion effect at the same time. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you think it works? I am still working up the courage to publish a picture of the dress with me inside it – I really REALLY hate having my picture taken so it might take a little while. But once I am there I will model the dress and then it becomes really clear whether the optical illusion works ;-).

This is the back view:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I make a few changes to the patterns: Most obviously I made the black side panels on the bodice larger by cutting the pattern in half where the dart would have been and then recombining the pattern piece with on white and one black half. I also make the neckline about 3cm wider all round as I found it chokingly high. I also made the sleeves straight and chopped around 8cm off the length. The dress in is a tall patterns, which would normally suit me, but both DH and DD said that it needed to be shorter than the pattern wanted it to be – and who am I to disrespect such advice ;-).

I have to say I am really happy with the way the dress has turned out! I even like the exposed zip that has caused me some major headache when putting it in because it would not stop distorting the shape of the neckline. After some major tweaking it is still not perfect, but I think it is ok and I like the look of an exposed zip in principle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a ponti knit and some white stretch lining and the construction went without any problems (excluding the zip, but that was user error …) so I am even thinking of making another dress in solid red in a knit that is languishing in my stash.

What do you think?

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “BurdaStyle 8/2012 #121: Colour block dress

  1. The Slapdash Sewist April 6, 2013 at 9:30 pm Reply

    That is really clever. I never would have thought to slice up the pattern that way.

    Thank you for the link! It appears to be to a German blogger mirror? The usual address is http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com.

  2. Chris April 12, 2013 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I hope I have now linked to the correct address – don’t really know what happened there.
    I have now added more pictures of the dress, hopefully it gets clearer what I wanted to achieve 😉

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

